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Google Adwords Tips: Improve your results in 3 steps

Google does a great job of providing a venue for you to reach millions of people from your computer at home. But you can't just create an ad, let it sit in a bunch of search-result sidebars, and expect results. Running an effective Adwords campaign takes dedication and attention to the many details that Google provides you. I like to think of it in 3 connected but distinct phases: Create, Track, Adjust.

Step 1: Creating your Google Ads.

Make several different ads. Target different types of keywords and tailor your ad language to your keywords. Let's say you were running an ad campaign for Twitter. Depending on your target audience, you'd want to vary the keywords and ad copy.

Look at the two ads below. The language on the one in the left column clearly targets an older audience whereas the right-hand column targets a younger crowd. The keywords on the left are all businesses that have a strong Twitter presence and would be searched for by adults. The keywords on the right are all teen idols, many of whom have hundreds of thousands of Twitter followers.


But one ad for each group of keywords isn't enough. You should start by running several different versions of a similar ad for each set of keywords. See the two groups below.

The left column contains two examples of varying text for ads targeting businessmen. You can see that both ads compliment the set of keywords that were determined in the image above but in slightly different ways.  The right column does the same but with ad copy for the keywords targeting teenagers.

Step 2: Tracking the success of your Adwords Campaign

The advantage of creating so many varieties of each ad is that you have a ton of data to analyze and interpret. While this takes a little more work, it can greatly improve the success rate of your campaign.

There are two ways to maximize your budget depending on whether you are paying by every thousand views (CPM) or by each click (CPC)

How to maximize CPM: look at the Click Through Rate (CTR)

You should first compare the overall CTR of each ad. The chart below is an example of how two ads stack up against each other.

At first glance, it looks like Ad Copy 1 (AC1) significantly outperformed Ad Copy 2 (AC2) because it got twice as many clicks. You'll notice however that AC2's CTR is higher. That means that it took more than twice as many impressions for AC1 to get twice the clicks.

As far as CPM is concerned, AC2 won this round.



The overall ad CTR doesn't tell the whole story though. Adwords gives you statistics on how each keyword within each ad performed. This is particularly important when you're paying by CPM. You will want to make sure that one keyword isn't getting a ton of search hits but very few click-throughs.

In the example below, you can see that Keyword 1 (K1) got 24 more clicks than Keyword 2 (K2). Again though, we look at CTR and K2's is nearly twice as high. This stat becomes clear when you see that K2 had almost half as many impressions as K1.

And when you're paying by impression, K2 is the better keyword.


How to maximize CPC: the key is in the keywords

The advantage of CPC is that you don't pay if Google users don't click. The disadvantage is that it tends to be more expensive if there's a decent CTR. So where the CPM buyer's goal is to find the areas where the CTR is highest, the CPC buyer's goal is to find the keywords that have the cheapest CPC.

Take a look at the two keywords below. Keyword 1 (K1) had more clicks and a higher CTR than Keyword 2 (K2). But when you're paying for each click, you need to keep your eye on the Avg. CPC. You can see that K2 has a lower CPC than K1.

So for this scenario, K2 takes the cake.



Step 3: Adjusting based on your Adwords tracking

Once you've analyzed all the data Google has collected, it's time to start making adjustments to your campaign. After all, what good is recognizing that certain ads and keywords are underperforming if you don't remove them. 

When making decisions on which advertisements should have increased exposure and which should be reduced or removed, it's important to always keep the big picture in mind.

Some decisions will be easy. In the example below it's clear that if you're paying by CPM, this keyword needs to be removed. A CTR of .03% is not sustainable under any reasonable budget.


But often there's a lot more gray area. If you aren't getting the number of clicks that you want, sometimes you'll have to pay a higher CPC or accept a lower CTR. That's why the big picture is so important. Use your relative success in your other ads and keywords to guide where you draw the line between getting the clicks you need at a price you're willing to pay.


Note: This is not an actual case study. The statistics were for illustration purposes only. Please beware of drawing conclusions from such small sample sizes when monitoring your own campaign.


How else have you had success with Google's Adwords? How have you maximized your budget? Let me know.



Jina's avatar
valuable post you wrote, lots of learning point you mentioned that is helpful to understand more. thanks for sharing the post.
meenal deshpande's avatar
meenal deshpande
Very Nice Write Up,
As PPC compaigns are not that much easy as you have main motto to get maximum conversion and ROI.
Also In PPc landing page is also the important factor to consider.
keep sharing such inforamtion
Adwords Campaign's avatar
Adwords Campaign
To understand adwords campaign is hard for beginners. You article describe about adjusting bid according to keywords in detail. Thanks for sharing valuable information.
Udit Khanna's avatar
Udit Khanna
Thanks for sharing such a wonderful article.
All tips as mentioned above are really helpful for all the beginners.
Before you make a Google Adwords campaign you should make a strategy with the help of your team members
Taylor's avatar
*What is Google Ads and How can it Improve my SEO?*

Google Ads, formerly Google Adwords, is an advertisement bidding system. Google Ads allows you to bid for ad space in Google’s search results for the keywords of your choice.

You won’t pay for Google to display your ad. Only when someone actually clicks on your ad will Google charge you. This is known as Pay-Per-Click (PPC) advertising, or Cost-Per-Click (CPC) advertising.

You can purchase PPC advertising not only on Google and all the major search engines, but also on social networks like Facebook and Instagram. However, in this post we will discuss Pay-Per-Click advertising as it relates to Google Ads.

*What is the difference between PPC and SEO?*

While you can buy your spot in the search results with PPC advertising, you must earn your position in the organic, or free search results. To rank organically you must focus on a combination of many factors, which is called search engine optimization (SEO).

Some of the most important SEO factors that determine how high you rank on Google include great content, mobile friendliness, and high authority incoming links.

There are over 200 SEO ranking factors (or as many as 10,000 ranking factors, depending on how you look at it). Google looks at all of these to determine how high your website should rank in the organic search results. So you can see that effective SEO can be a daunting and time-intensive task. That is where the beauty of PPC advertising comes in.

*Rank on the First Page of Google with PPC – Instantly!*

Ranking a website on the first page of Google organically can take months. PPC on the other hand, will get you on the first page of Google immediately.

If you use any search engine, you have no doubt seen Pay-Per-Click ads in your search results. Here is an example of a PPC ad on Google for the search term “Lawyer:”

Notice the small green word “Ad” right next to the URL in the first Google search result. That is Google’s disclosure that you are looking at a paid placement through the Google Ads service. In other words, not an organic first page Google ranking because of quality content and credibility.

The next thing you’ll see after the Google ad in the screenshot above is the Google Local 3-Pack. This is another powerful search engine marketing technique that I recommend to any brick and mortar business for fast organic SEO results.

You won’t always see the Google Local 3-Pack in the search results. Many times there will be several paid Google Ads at the top of the search results, like this:

So how does Google decide which ad ranks first? You’re probably thinking it has something to do with money, and you’re right, but there’s more to it than just money.

That brings us to our next question, “How much does Google Ads cost?” I’m going to answer that, plus we will take a look at some of the other ranking factors for paid Google ads.

*How Much Does Google Ads Cost?*

If you’ve never heard of Pay-Per-Click marketing before, getting on the first page of Google instantly may seem too good to be true. So your next question may be, how much do Google ads cost?

*Control PPC Cost With a Daily Spending Limit*

The short answer is that Google Ads will cost you about as much or as little as you want to spend. Google Ads and other PPC advertising allows you to set a daily spending limit at as little as a few dollars per day. This is in contrast to traditional forms of advertising, such as newspaper or magazine ads, in which you may spend thousands of dollars just to find your ad was a complete flop.

*Max Cost-Per-Click to Control Your Cost Per Lead*

Another variable that controls how much your PPC advertising campaign will cost is the max cost-per-click (CPC) that you’re willing to pay.

The higher you set the max CPC, the higher your ad will appear in the paid search results when there are multiple bids for that keyword.

A highly competitive keyword, like “lawyer,” will cost more per click than a less competitive, or less profitable keyword, like “haircut.”

*Using Quality Score to Pay Less and Rank Higher*

Your maximum bid per click is not the only factor that controls how high your ad will rank in the paid search results. Your ad ranking is determined by your bid per click X your quality score.

Quality score is determined mainly by your Click-Through-Rate (CTR), keyword relevance, and quality of your landing page.

The higher your quality score is, the less you will need to pay per click for the same ranking.

*Google Ads: Higher Quality Score = Higher Ranking for Less Money*

*Use Analytics to Improve Your PPC Campaigns*

Real-time analytics allow you to decide if it would be best to dump or tweak a particular ad or keyword or increase the daily spending limit to drive more traffic to your best performers.

*Good Performance Means More Than Traffic*

Spending money to get more traffic to your site isn’t worth anything unless that traffic is actually converting for you.

*What is a Conversion?*

A conversion is when a visitor to your website takes an action that you define as a sales or marketing goal. Some examples of a sales goal are a purchase, a contact form submission, or a phone call.

*Conversion Rate*

The percentage of visitors that complete a sales goal is known as the conversion rate. Your conversion rate is one of the most important metrics to track in your Google Ads campaign. However, there are additional, critical metrics that will tell you if your PPC ads or keywords are performing well.

*Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)*

To calculate your cost-per-acquisition, or CPA, divide the cost of a PPC campaign by the number of conversions.

That means if you spend $500 in one month and get 50 conversions, your CPA is $10 ($500/50 conversions).

Now say that each conversion is a purchase of a $200 product or service. That leaves $190 per transaction after subtracting the $10 CPA that it takes to make each sale. In this scenario, you will most likely make a profit. (I say most likely, because you still need to factor in your other costs of doing business)

On the other hand, if your CPA is $10 for the sale of a $5 product that will not be a sustainable business model. You’re losing $5 per conversion before even taking into account any other overhead. If you find yourself in a situation like this, it’s time to look at ways to lower your CPA. Alternatively, you can raise the price of your product or service.

*SEO Benefits of PPC*

With Google Ads you can rank on page one of Google for any keyword as long as you are willing to pay for it. You can even rank number one!

*Rank on the first page of Google today using Google Ads*

Seeing that you can spend thousands of dollars on SEO services to rank on the first page of Google, the value of this is obvious. Not to mention that it can take months to see results from an organic SEO campaign.

But even more valuable than getting your website ranking high in Google’s search results is the data you will acquire that can be applied to your organic SEO.

In this way, you can get the best of both worlds. Immediate top rankings (for a fee), while gathering data to improve your organic Google search ranking (so you can rank for FREE).

You will receive many metrics and insights from your PPC campaigns. Some of the most valuable data for your organic SEO is insight into which keywords convert well for your industry or niche.

*Focusing Your SEO on High Conversion Keywords*

After your PPC campaigns have run for some time, you may find that the keywords you thought were going to convert well don’t, while other keywords convert much better than you ever expected.

Gaining insights into your keyword performance like this will save you massive amounts of time and money on Search Engine Optimization.

Rather than invest your SEO efforts on the keywords you think will perform well, focus on ranking organically for keywords you know convert.

*Split Testing to Improve Your Conversion Rate*

Once you find the best converting keywords you can continue to increase your conversion rate by making improvements to your sales page copy through A/B split testing in Google Ads.

An A/B split test divides the traffic from your PPC ad between two different landing pages and allows you to see which version converts better.

When you have a clear winner, create a new landing page to split test against the previous winner. Continue to improve your landing page copy for higher conversion rates.

You can use what you learn from your PPC ad split tests in your organically ranking sales page.

*Improving Your Click-Through-Rate (CTR)*

You can also split test your ads to improve your Click-Through-Rate (CTR). CTR is the percentage of people that click on your ad when it is displayed.

*How to Increase CTR with the Title*

You can improve your CTR by testing different ad titles (the blue, linked text in your ad) and descriptions. Once you find a title that converts well, use that for the page title of your organically ranking page. Eventually (remember that organic SEO takes time!) Google will re-index your page. When they do, the new, higher converting title will start showing in the organic search results.

*Using the Description to Increase CTR*

Your ad description also plays a big part in the CTR for both PPC ads and organic search results.

The description is the text that appears directly under the blue, linked title of a search result. It gives the searcher a brief summary of what they will find on your page if they click through.

Write informative and enticing descriptions, while accurately representing what your visitors will find on the page. A misleading description (or title) will result in a high bounce rate and short visits to your site. Both of which are factors that will negatively impact your organic SEO and Google Ads ranking.

The description in Google Ads corresponds to the meta-description of a website page. In the past, the meta-description was always used as the description for organic search results.

These days, Google does not always use the meta description for the organic search results. Many times Google chooses text from the contents of your web page. This is to display what is most relevant for each search.

So there is no guarantee that your custom meta-description will be displayed in the organic search results. However, it does give you a chance for your high CTR description to be shown.

You can use an SEO plugin like Yoast to easily customize your page titles and meta-descriptions.

*How to Get Started With Google Ads*

Are you ready to get started with Google Ads to increase your sales and leads?

Being a beginner in Google Ads can seem intimidating, but it isn’t as scary as it may seem. I have covered many of the basics of Google ads in this post, but there is a lot more to learn. Thankfully, there are many resources to help you through the learning curve.

Google Ads Tutorials and Resources
Perhaps the best Google Ads tutorial is from Google themselves. Makes sense, right? Google’s tutorial walks you through every aspect for running a successful PPC campaign in Google Ads.

Another helpful resource from Google is their Google Ads Fundamentals assessment study guide. The study guide is for the certification test that you can take at the Google Acadamy for Ads. The assessment guide is a very helpful resource, even if you don’t plan on getting your Google Ads certification.

All Google Ads certifications are now free. If you are planning on marketing Google Ads management services I highly recommend getting Google Certified for major credibility points.

Even if you only plan to use Google Ads for your own marketing purposes, graduating from the Google Academy for Ads will ensure that you achieve the best results possible in your PPC advertising.

Read What Is Google Ads on The Jedi Father blog (

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